Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes choosing where to eat in Paris can be rather overwhelming…you can turn to the countless dining guides, local food reviews and food blogs, but nothing speaks louder than the vox populi or – perhaps more accurately – the tummies of the populi [hmmm, what is the Latin word for tummy?]. Hence why, despite staying in the 3rd arrondissement this time around, I had to trek out to the 16th to revisit an old haunt – the a La Petite Marquise boulangerie at Place Victor Hugo.

Last summer when I was in Paris, I lived around the corner from a La Petite Marquise (which translates to “the little canopy” – so sweet! – and they’ve been around since 1935, so they’ve clearly worked it out by now!) and the flaky, buttery croissants here became a non-negotiable part of my morning. The sculptured cakes were a decadent treat every other day too; but when I noticed the queues that formed here at 6 in the EVENING every day, I had to try the unassuming-looking baguettes. Suffice to say pate, cheese and a Petite Marquise baguette became my mandatory evening love dalliance – regardless of whether a dinner was on the cards. How many places in Paris (or anywhere in the world for that matter!) can you buy a baguette straight out of the oven at 6pm –  where it is still so warm that you need to juggle it between two hands to avoid burning your fingers?

On this visit I picked up a “torsade roquefort noix” – to go (dining in is an option – though one I never did take). Torsade is similar to a cheese bread stick – made with braided pieces of puff pastry. Petite Marquise use a denser dough and this one is filled with a sharp roquefort and whole walnuts [note to self: must try this combo at home]. Please do believe me when I say that my intention had been to take the torsade home to photograph before eating it … but it never quite made it home. So, you’ll have to trust me that it was delicious and absolutely morish – and perhaps these pictures of the other sweet offerings at La Petite will give more credence to my words …

Do you have a favourite boulangerie in Paris? Or, are you lucky enough to have a baker who supplies your daily fresh bread in your home town?

bisous, mon ami

