Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This will sound either clichéd or crazy; but I truly believe in angels.  I don’t know whether angels exist in the form of energy, or bodiless souls, or whether they are what others refer to as “the universe” or “destiny”. But I do believe that things happen for a reason, although we may not always understand (or it may take us some time to understand) what those reasons are – and, for me, angels make those things happen.

When I missed the Alexander McQueen Savage Beauty exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City last summer (I arrived at opening time, but hours-long queues had formed and they were not letting any more people into the queue) I was so disappointed. Bitterly disappointed. But had it not been for missing that exhibit (which I’m sure I will get a chance to see eventually when it travels elsewhere), I would not have discovered the beautiful exhibit of 19th century decorative hand-made wooden furniture, upholstered with the most luscious fabrics. The fabrics reminded me of the kind used for cheong sams and I fantasised about the million things I could make with those fabrics (recall: Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music. Can you imagine what the Von Trapp kids would have looked like in outfits made from these fabric?) Covet 10+. Thank you to my angel for sending me to this exhibit…

Rococo Revival style sofa with damask upholstery (1850-60)

Louis Seize style chair (c 1856)

Neo Grec style chair (c 1865-68)

Louis XV style armchair with original silk upholstery (1843)

by the Herter Brothers - with reproduction brocade upholstery (c 1875)

by the Herter Brothers (1867-69)

Neo Grec style chair by Herter Brothers (1865-8)

Do you believe in angels? Have you ever had an “angel” experience?

x

