Tags

, , , , ,

What’s your summer song? You know, the one that conjures up memories of long lazy days in the sun, the whirring sound of cicadas or that fleeting summer fling? I have a different summer song for every summer. In fact, I have a summer playlist for every year, for the last six years. I find, though, that summer songs tend to reflect the music of the day. For example, Frankie Valli’s remixed “December, 1963 (Oh what a Night)” always reminds me of the summer of ’95; cruising around the beaches in the back of my then-boyfriend’s best friend’s jeep, with the top down and believing we were more cool than we would ever be… and “One” by Swedish House Mafia takes me back to summer 2010 in Ibiza with my best friends, where we drank too much, ate too little and basted in the Mediterranean sun for more hours than the sand in an hourglass.

Kiss Kiss, my 2011/12 summer song. What's yours?

But this summer, my summer song is not a 2011/12 zeitgeist. It’s a flashback to 2002. It’s a rather daggy song and one which I don’t think I even liked very much when it hit number one back then.  But, a chance moment in a maxi-taxi on 1 January 2012 will mean that Holly Valance’s “Kiss Kiss” will forever transport me back to a gorgeous summer day on Sydney harbour with beautiful friends, dancing and drinking cocktails out of fresh coconuts. How we loved those coconuts! So, on that note, I’ve been inspired to concoct this virgin cocktail, which uses fresh coconut juice, summer berries, pineapple and mint. Of course, you can pop the cherry of this cocktail by adding a splash or two of Malibu or any other summery liqueur that tickles your fancy. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Recipe:

  • 1 young drinking coconut (you can use canned coconut water, but drinking it out of the coconut shell is part of the fun!).
  • 5 strawberries
  • 10 blueberries
  • 30 grams fresh pineapple diced
  • 2 mint leaves
  • ice to serve

(1) Open the coconut. The easiest way to do this is to use a meat cleaver or other heavy bladed knife and chop a square around the top of the coconut (hold the coconut at the side or base and watch your fingers!). Push the tip of the knife into one side of the square and lever out the top of the coconut. (2) Pour the coconut water into a cup.

Use a meat cleaver to chop a square around the top of the coconut.

(3) Insert a spoon into the coconut and scrape the coconut flesh – leaving it inside the coconut (you’ll have bits of coconut to eat while you drink the cocktail). (4) Place the berries, pineapple and mint into a cocktail shaker and muddle. (5) Add the coconut water and shake. (6) Pour the cocktail back into the coconut shell (you’ll have some left over – leave it to the side for a top up), add a few cubes of ice and enjoy!

What is your summer song? What does it remind you of? I’d love to hear from you.

kiss kiss

