Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If I were asked to imagine the quaintest little boulangerie made out of gingerbread and icing sugar, it might well look a little something like this:

So it was a bit of a Hansel and Gretel moment for me to have stumbled across this boulangerie at 28 Boulevard Beaumarchais – just around the corner from Place de Vosges (to where I was making my usual pilgrimage to pick up the most amazing macarons in the world). “Boulangerie 28″ stock the usual delightful array of wicked sweet pastries:

But it was the savoury tarts (or “pizzas” as they call it) which won me over. Flaky pastry on the outside, chunky tomato filling and mildly salty sardines on top – to break through the richness of the tomato.

So much for having half now, and saving the other half for later…

bisous, mon ami

