Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Without the women who are (and who have been) in my life :

  • I would not know the beauty of faithful and unconditional love;
  • I would not know the deep aching emptiness of loss;
  • I would not know how to verbalise all of my greatest fears and wildest dreams;
  • I would not have the strength to get up every time I am knocked over and trampled upon;
  • I would not know how to cook a mean hot & sour soup, or make the perfect chicken liver pate;
  • I would not get bags under my eyes from staying up until 4am gossiping and laughing;
  • I would not hobble home at 6am with my stilettos in my hands, panda eyes and the soft scent of alcohol on my breath;
  • I would not own that awful black bejewelled knit which I have never worn;
  • I would not be regretting that extra scoop of ice cream;
  • I would not be here today;
  • I would not be who I am.

Whatever your views may be about the “real” purpose of International Women’s Day (“IWD”) on 8 March (which, by the way, is officially celebrated in numerous countries around the world and acknowledged by the UN), it is wonderful simply to have one day a year where women are appreciated and celebrated not for being mothers necessarily (à la Mother’s Day), or lovers (à la Valentine’s Day) – but simply for being women. This year, Women as Entrepreneurs (a network for Australian female entrepreneurs run by the fabulous Orsi Parkanyi, who I had the pleasure to meet recently) is holding an event to celebrate and enable women entrepreneurs – domestically and in third world countries. Profits from the evening will go towards empowering women living in poverty in developing countries. The event is open to men and women – please support it if you can.

If you are not in Australia or cannot attend, I do hope you celebrate IWD in some way nevertheless – whether it be by giving a hug to a woman in your life, or to take your female colleagues out to lunch…

Who are the women in your life? What do you love about the women in your life?

xx

